

Preliminary Call for Papers

IWOCA 2017

28th International Workshop on Combinatorial Algorithms 17 – 21 July 2017, Newcastle, Australia

The series of IWOCA conferences grew out of over 25 years history of the International (since 2007) respectively Australasian (until 2006) Workshops on Combinatorial Algorithms. Previous IWOCA and AWOCA meetings have been held in Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Indonesia, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, UK, and the US.



This is a very special IWOCA, dedicated to the memory of **Professor Mirka Miller**. Mirka was one of the founders of AWOCA and has attended many gatherings of this workshop since its initiation in 1988. Mirka has been an active member of the IWOCA Steering Committee since its inception in 2006. Mirka was diagnosed with gastro-oesophageal cancer in 2015 and died of this disease on 2nd January, 2016. This particular IWOCA gathering is as much about celebrating the life and work of this wonderful person as it is in continuing her legacy, of which IWOCA is just one aspect.

Topics include but are not limited to:

- Algorithms and Data Structures
- Complexity Theory
- Graph Theory & Combinatorics
- Combinatorial Optimization
- Cryptography & Information Security
- Algorithms on Strings & Graphs
- Graph Drawing & Labelling
- Computational Algebra & Geometry
- Computational Biology
- Probabilistic & Randomised Algorithms
- Algorithms for Big Data Analytics
- New Paradigms of Computation

Invited Speakers: (confirmed to date)

- 1. Martin Baca (Technical University, Kosice)
- Camino Balbuena (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
- 3. Diane Donovan (University of Queensland)
- 4. Henning Fernau (University of Trier)
- 5. Costas Iliopoulos (King's College London)
- 6. Jennifer Seberry (University of Wollongong)

Important dates:

Abstract due
Paper due
Tth March 2017
15th March 2017
March 2017
Notification
Camera ready
April 2017
April 2017

5. IWOCA 17th -21st July 2017

Submission

Authors are invited to submit a paper not exceeding 12 single-spaced pages, including references, figures, title, authors, affiliations, e-mail addresses, and a short (one paragraph) abstract. The authors are strongly advised to use the LaTeX style file supplied by Springer Verlag for Lecture Notes in Computer Science here. Final proceedings papers must be camera-ready in this format. A clearly marked Appendix, which will not count toward the 12 page submission limit, can be included and will be read at the referees' discretion. All submissions have to be made via the EasyChair submission page for the conference at

https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=iwoca2017

Papers submitted for review should represent original, previously unpublished work and surveys of important results. At the time the paper is submitted to IWOCA, and for the entire review period, the paper (or essentially the same paper) should not be under review by any other conference with published proceedings or by a scientific journal. At least one author of each accepted paper will be expected to attend the conference and present the paper.

Best Student Paper Award

European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) will award a prize to the author(s) of the best student paper. To be eligible for this award, all the authors of the paper have to be students at the time of submission. Authors who wish their paper to be considered for the Best Student Paper Award should inform the chairs of their eligibility via email by the paper submission deadline.

Open Problem Session

In IWOCA tradition, we will hold an open problems session at IWOCA2017. If you have an open problem that would like to share with other conference participants or wider IWOCA community, please email to the open problems chair Gabriele Fici (gabriele.fici@unipa.it).

Organising Committee:

- 1. Ljiljana Brankovic (co-chair)
- 2. Joe Ryan (co-chair)
- 3. Stephan Chalup
- 4. Yuqing Lin
- 5. Alexandre Mendes
- 6. Nasimul Noman
- 7. Mira Park
- 8. Juliane Turner
- 9. Mujiangshan Wang

Proceedings will be published in Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) after the conference. Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to a special issue of the Journal of Discrete Algorithms (JDA).

Conference Website:

https://carma.newcastle.edu.au/meetings/iwoca/ Please mark your diaries so as not to miss out on this very special IWOCA.

Program Committee: (confirmed to date)

- 1. Donald Adjeroh (West Virginia University)
- 2. Hideo Bannai (Kyushu University)
- 3. Cristina Bazgan (University Paris Dauphine)
- 4. Ljiljana Brankovic (University of Newcastle, **co-chair**)
- 5. Pino Cabellero-Gil (University of La Laguna)
- 6. Charles Colbourn (Arizona State University)
- 7. Tatjana Davidovic (Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts)
- 8. Vlad Estivill-Castro (Griffith University)
- 9. Graham Farr (Monash University)
- 10. Michael Fellows (University of Bergen)
- 11. Gabriele Fici (University of Palermo)
- 12. Dalibor Froncek (University of Minnesota Duluth)
- 13. Serge Gaspers (University of New South Wales)
- 14. Pinar Heggernes (University of Bergen)
- 15. Seok-Hee Hong (University of Sydney)
- Peter Horak (University of Washington, Tacoma)
- 17. Jesper Jansson (Kyoto University)
- 18. Ralf Klasing (CNRS Bordeaux)
- 19. Christian Komusiewicz (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena)
- 20. Jan Kratochvil (Charles University)
- 21. Thierry Lecroq (University of Rouen)
- 22. Zsuzsanna Lipták (University of Verona)
- 23. Petra Mutzel (TU Dortmund)
- 24. Kunsoo Park (Seoul National University)
- 25. Vangelis Paschos (University Paris Dauphine)
- 26. Christophe Paul (CNRS Montpellier)
- 27. Solon Pissis (King's College London)
- 28. Simon J. Puglisi (University of Helsinki)
- 29. Gordon Royle (University of Western Australia)
- 30. Frances Rosamond (University of Bergen)
- 31. Frank Ruskey (University of Victoria)
- 32. Joe Ryan (University of Newcastle, co-chair)
- 33. Oliver Schaudt (University of Köln)
- 34. Andrea Semaničová-Feňovčíková (Technical University of Kosice)
- 35. Jamie Simpson (Murdoch University)
- 36. Michiel Smid (Carleton University)
- 37. Bill Smyth (McMaster University, co-chair)
- 38. Sue Whitesides (University of Victoria)
- 39. Christos Zaroliagis (University of Patras)







